Tuesday, February 11, 2014

The DSM-5 Arrivest at BPL

The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, better known as DSM-5, is the 2013 update to the American Psychiatric Association's (APA) classification and diagnostic tool. In the US, it is the universal standard for all psychiatric disorder diagnoses. Treatments, as well as payment by insurance providers are determined by their DSM classification.

It replaces the DSM–IV, which was published in 2000. Some of the notable changes to the DSM-5 are the removal of Asperger syndrome and autism as distinctive disorders and their combination with several other disorders under the new title, Autism Spectrum Disorders.

The DSM-5 chapter on anxiety disorder no longer includes obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD) (which is included with the obsessive-compulsive and related disorders), or posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and acute stress disorder (which is included with the trauma- and stressor-related disorders).

If you would like to use this extremely important reference, the Five Points West Regional Library owns a copy. It is not for checkout, but may be photocopied. We also still have the DMS-IV. Please drop by the Information desk if you are interested.

Lorraine Walker
Five Points West Library

No comments:

Popular Posts