Wednesday, February 09, 2011

2010 Bram Stoker Awards Preliminary Ballot

Stoker Winners 20092009 Stoker Award Winners: Norman Prentiss, Michael Knost, Brian Lumley, Tanith Lee, Hank Schwaeble, Lisa Morton, Ray Russell, and James Herbert

It's one of my favorite times of year as the Horror Writers Association shines a spotlight on the horror genre and passes out some awards. Two of my favorite books from 2010 made the preliminary list: Joe Hill's Horns and Jeff Strand's Dweller. If you like horror even a little, you may enjoy the story about a man who wakes up after a night of drinking and discovers horns growing out of his forehead that give him the ability to make people tell him their darkest thoughts; or the story about a bullied boy named Toby who discovers a Bigfoot-type monster living in the woods behind his house and how he tenders a lifelong relationship with the creature he names Owen.

Superior Achievement in a Novel:

Vipers by Lawrence C. Connolly
Siren by John Everson
Horns by Joe Hill
It Came from Del Rio by Stephen Graham Jones
Sparrow Rock by Nate Kenyon
Desperate Souls by Gregory Lamberson
The Frenzy Way by Gregory Lamberson
Rot and Ruin by Jonathan Maberry
Apocalypse of the Dead by Joe McKinney
Empire of Salt by Weston Ochse
Dweller by Jeff Strand
A Dark Matter by Peter Straub

...the list in its entirety

For books not owned by any JCLC library, you may be able to borrow them through Interlibrary Loan.

No comments:

Popular Posts