Monday, June 17, 2019

What to Read Next

by Lynn Hutchins, Circulation Department, Central Library

Have you read Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens? Did you enjoy it? Are you looking for what to read next? If you liked Where the Crawdads Sing, try one of these eight books published in the last eight years. One of them might become your next favorite book.

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr
A stunningly ambitious and beautiful novel about a blind French girl and a German boy whose paths collide in occupied France as both try to survive the devastation of World War II.





The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah
Thirteen-year-old Leni, a girl coming of age in a tumultuous time, caught in the riptide of her parents’ passionate, stormy relationship, dares to hope that a new land will lead to a better future for her family.

Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman
The story of an out-of-the-ordinary heroine whose deadpan weirdness and unconscious wit make for an irresistible journey as she realizes.





The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey
Alaska, 1920: a brutal place to homestead, and especially tough for recent arrivals Jack and Mabel. In a moment of levity during the season's first snowfall, they build a child out of snow.






Silver Sparrow by Tayari Jones
A breathtaking story set in Atlanta about a man's deception, a family's complicity, and two teenage girls caught in the middle.







Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng
Lydia is dead. But they don’t know this yet . . . So begins the story of this exquisite debut novel about a Chinese American family living in 1970s small-town Ohio.








The Light We Lost by Jill Santopolo
This devastatingly romantic debut novel about the enduring power of first love, with a shocking, unforgettable ending, is Love Story for a new generation.






My Absolute Darling by Gabriel Tallent
A brilliant and immersive, all-consuming read about one fourteen-year-old girl's heart-stopping fight for her own soul. Turtle Alveston is a survivor. At fourteen, she roams the woods along the northern California coast.








As always, please feel free to stop by the library and visit any desk for more information. We love recommending books and are always happy to help you find a new favorite.

No comments:

Popular Posts