Alabama Wins 37-21

Alabama Crimson Tide
Just in case you haven’t heard, the Alabama Crimson Tide won the Citi BCS National Championship game last night by beating Texas 37-21. I don’t know about you, but I think Nick Saban might have something to do with the team’s success. :-) During his first season (2007-08) the team had a regular season record of 6-6. During the 2008-09 regular season, the team finished 12-0. This season, not only did the team go undefeated during the regular season, they won the SEC Championship and the BCS National Championship. To take a team from 6-6 to national champions in three seasons is an amazing feat. Roll Tide! Not only that, the SEC has won the last FOUR national championships: Florida (2006-07), LSU (2007-08), Florida (2008-09), and Alabama (2009-10).

I wish Colt McCoy could have played the entire game last night because the sportswriters are already saying that Alabama's win has an asterisk. Well, football is a contact sport and injuries are a part of the game. No one would have given Alabama any sympathy if Mark Ingram had been unable to play. Alabama beat both of the teams who won the last THREE national championships. Don't they deserve credit for being a good team? I certainly wish Colt well in his recovery, but it was a clean hit. He said after the game that he's taken several hits just like it.

College football season is officially over, but the NFL Playoffs are about to get underway. The Football Subject Guide is still available for you to find good books to read and follow the news headlines. Stay warm and enjoy the NFL Playoffs.


Tressa Fancher said…
I knew the "what if" spin would start immediately. McCoy or not, our defense was in top form last night and all season. Roll tide!
Anonymous said…
The asterisk in the record books due to Colt McCoy?


The asterisk is due to the fact the team is on probation until June 2012.
Anonymous said…
Roll Tidde!
Anonymous said…
Congrats to the Tide! Undefeated season and winning a BCS game! A moment to be proud!

Congrats to Boise State just the same. Undefeated season and winning a BCS game.

Until college football has a playoff, there is neither a fair system nor a true national championship.

All undefeated teams deserve the mythical national championship award.

The winners of 2009 - Boise State (14–0) & Alabama (14–0)!

Congratulations UAT on your 13th mythical national championship in football! or is that 12, 10, 8, or is it 6?

Oh, just make up a number it's mythical anyway.