Tuesday, June 27, 2017

Society of Alabama Archivists and Birmingham Public Library Call for Nominations for Marvin Yeomans Whiting Award

by Jim Baggett, Head, Archives and Manuscripts Department

Dr. Marvin Whiting, BPL archivist, 1975-1996
The Awards Committee of the Society of Alabama Archivists calls for nominations for the 2017 Marvin Yeomans Whiting Award. Named for Marvin Whiting, the Birmingham Public Library's first archivist and a pioneer in the professionalization of archives in Alabama, this award recognizes individuals, organizations, or institutions that have made a significant contribution to the preservation and dissemination of local history in Alabama. The award recognizes the preservation of historic documents and oral history but not buildings, historic sites, or artifacts. The Birmingham Public Library co-sponsors the award.

The award was created in 2012 and the past recipients are Ed Bridges, retired director of the Alabama Department of Archives and History; Elizabeth Wells, former head of Special Collections at Samford University; Coll’ette King of the Mobile County Probate Court; Bobby Joe Seals of the Shelby County Museum and Archives; and Tom Turley of the Alabama Department of Archives and History.

The deadline for nominations is July 28, 2017, and the award will be presented at the Society of Alabama Archivists Annual Meeting at the University of Alabama on October 13, 2017.

For more information and to access the nomination form, visit the SALA web site at http://www.alarchivists.org/whiting-award.html.

Questions may be directed to:
Jim Baggett, Head
Department of Archives and Manuscripts
Birmingham Public Library
2100 Park Place, Birmingham, AL 35203
205-226-3631 (voice), 205-226-3633 (fax)

No comments:

Popular Posts