2019 Pulitzer Prize Book Winners

On April 15 the Pulitzer Prize winners and finalists for 2019 were announced via livestream at Columbia University. The winners receive $15,000 along with the lifelong honor of being a "Pulitzer Prize winner." The Pulitzers are divided into two categories: Journalism and Letters, Drama & Music. Here are the winners in the Letters, Drama & Music category:

The Pulitzer Prize for Fiction: The Overstory by Richard Powers
The Pulitzer Prize for General Nonfiction: Amity and Prosperity: One Family and the Fracturing of America by Eliza Griswold
The Pulitzer Prize for Drama: Fairview by Jackie Sibblies Drury
The Pulitzer Prize for History: Frederick Douglass: Prophet of Freedom by David W. Blight
The Pulitzer Prize for Autobiography or Biography: The New Negro: The Life of Alain Locke by Jeffrey C. Stewart
The Pulitzer Prize for Poetry: Be With by Forrest Gander

Aretha Franklin received a Special Award for her "indelible contribution to American music and culture for more than five decades."

For a full list of the winners and finalists, visit The Pulitzer Prizes official website.